What is the Lakeland city commission and how does it work?

Welcome to City Hall.


Welcome to City Hall, home of the City Commission.

Photo via LALtoday

Table of Contents

The mayor and city commission play a vital role in developing meaningful policies to better the city of Lakeland. Today, we’re breaking down the commission’s role in our community + how you can join.


The city commission is currently made up of seven members: Mayor Bill Mutz, Stephanie Madden, Sara Roberts McCarley, Chad McLeod, Mike Musick, Bill Read, and Sam Simmons. Each commissioner has been elected by the people of Lakeland or appointed by the commission and represents a district or the city at large.

The commission meets on the first and third Monday of each month at 9 a.m. — unless the day falls on a holiday. Meetings can be viewed live online or attended in-person at City Hall (228 S. Massachusetts Ave.).

How it works

Commissioners develop and enact policies, hear from members of the community, decide on local tax rates, balance the city budget, determine city pay rates, address community issues, and more.

Additionally, each commissioner takes part in various subcommittees, task forces, and special assignments that directly impact the quality of life for Lakeland residents. Subcommittees include community development, finance, legislative, municipal boards and committees, real estate, and transportation + utility.

How you can join

Elections for city commissioners are held every two years and each term lasts four years. The next election will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 7, and three seats on the commission are up for re-election:

  • At Large: Seat 2
  • District A: Northwest
  • District B: Northeast

To run for office, you must be at least 18 years of age, a resident of your district and Lakeland as of January 2023, registered to vote, and able to commit to a four-year term. The next election cycle will take place in 2023 and three seats on the commission will be up for re-election.