In 1927, Lakeland’s first community center opened. Designed by Lakeland architect W.B. Talley, the Italian Renaissance building was originally named after the first incorporated women’s club in America: The Sorosis Club of New York.
Fast forward to 2005. Members of the Junior League of Greater Lakeland decided to buy the building and share it as a gift to the community. Today, Lakelanders can host events and explore a piece of history for themselves.