Voting in Lakeland on Election Day

Learn all about casting your vote in the upcoming elections, including voting locations and candidates.

voting sign.jpeg

Make your voice heard, Lakeland.

Photo by LALtoday

Table of Contents

At LALtoday, we aim to cover local elections in a way that educates and activates our community with unbiased information to encourage individual voter participation. (I.e. vote for whoever + whatever you want to, just make sure to vote.) To learn more, check out our Editorial Ethics Policy.

The big day — aka Election Day — is just around the corner on Tues., Nov. 8, and we’ve done the Googling so you don’t have to. To make this election as easy as possible, we’ve curated need-to-know information about how and where to vote, along with what we’re voting on — from seats to amendments. 👇

Are you registered?

First things first, make sure you’re eligible + registered to vote.

Find your polling location

Polk County polling places will be open on Tues., Nov. 8 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. If you’re unsure where to go, you can request voter information that provides your registration status + polling location.

Early walk-in voting is available daily through Sat., Nov. 5 from 9 a.m.-6 p.m. at these locations. Don’t forget to bring your photo ID.

Voting absentee? The deadline to request a mail-in ballot was Sat., Oct. 30, and completed ballots must be received by Tues., Nov. 8 at 7 p.m. to be counted.

What are we voting on?

In Polk County, you’ll be voting for a Senate representative, Congressional House representatives, a Governor, several more state and county seats, a school board seat, and five ballot measures.

The candidates

Here are the candidates that will be on the ballot in Polk County. To determine your district, check out these interactive maps + resources.

You can also identify your voting district by checking your voter registration status or sample ballot. Find information on how congressional and state legislative district boundaries are established here.

US Senator

  • Marco Rubio | REP
  • Val Demings | DEM
  • Dennis Misigoy | LPF
  • Steven B. Grant | NPA
  • Tuan TQ Nguyen | NPA

Congress Representative

  • Scott Franklin | REP
  • Keith R. Hayden Jr. | NPA

Governor and Lieutenant Governor

  • Ron DeSantis, Jeanette Nuñez | REP
  • Charlie Crist, Karla Hernandez | DEM
  • Hector Roos, Jerry “Tub” Rorabaugh | LPF
  • Carmen Jackie Gimenez, Kyle “KC” Gibson | NPA

Attorney General

  • Ashley Moody | REP
  • Aramis Ayala | DEM

Commissioner of Agriculture

  • Wilton Simpson | REP
  • Naomi Esther Blemur | DEM

State Senator, Discrict 12

  • Colleen Burton | REP
  • Veysel Dokur | DEM

County Commissioner, District 4

  • Martha Santiago | REP
  • Markeishia Smith | DEM

County Court Judge, Group 8

  • John Flynn
  • Ruth Moracen Knight

School Board, District 7

  • Lisa Miller
  • Jill Sessions

All ballots will include three constitutional amendments, one county referendum, and one charter amendment, which will be voted for or against.

More from LALtoday